Harry Potter Prisoner of Azkaban Gryffindor Scarf

Here’s the pattern for the Harry Potter scarf that I made (and designed).

Supplies:

3 skeins of red yarn (I used Caron Simply soft Autumn Red), 1 skein of yellow yarn (I used Caron Simply soft Sunshine)

US size 7 (or smaller, depending on how large you want your scarf to be) circular knitting needles

Place marker

crochet hook (for fringe)

Instructions:

Cast on 100 sts in red yarn and put on place marker. Join on the round. Knit in stockinette for 30 rows, then change to yellow yarn and knit 4 rows, switch to red and knit 4 rows, go back to yellow and knit 4 rows. Repeat 30 red rows and stripes until your desired length. Block if desired, then add fringe. I made mine 3 inches long. Et Voila! You have your very own Gryffindor scarf ready for the next Harry Potter movie premier! You can change the colors to match whatever House you like. Here’s my scarf.

Just a note, 100 stitches make a very wide scarf. Mine ended up being 10 1/2 inches wide, so if you want a thinner scarf, cast on about 60 to 75.

83 thoughts on “Harry Potter Prisoner of Azkaban Gryffindor Scarf

  1. Karla Simpson says:

    I absolutely must make this for my daughter. She flipped out when she saw the pattern for this! NICE :) I ordered the yarn right away.

    • svyet says:

      Thank you very much! I’m glad to see that someone enjoyed my pattern. :) You must show me your finished scarf!

  2. [...] in time for the Midnight release on the 19th. Hmph. I’ve already started another one with a different pattern from the Prisoner of Azkaban (one of my favorite films of the HP series). It’s purple and yellow, so I’m not sure if [...]

  3. [...] I only cast on 60 stitches per row, instead of the 100 it recommended. 100 would have been HUGE. This is the pattern I worked from – DID NOT alter the number of yellow rows. Ended up using barely one skein of the mustard [...]

  4. [...] I only cast on 60 stitches per row, instead of the 100 it recommended. 100 would have been HUGE. This is the pattern I worked from – DID NOT alter the number of yellow rows. Ended up using barely one skein of the mustard [...]

  5. [...] we couldn’t do a Harry Potter pattern round-up without including a free Gryffindor scarf pattern could we? This rather stylish example was designed by Rachel Alexandra from [...]

  6. [...] cunning crafts. First we have a crocheted Golden Snitch by Melissa of Inner Child Crochet, then a Harry Potter Prisoner of Azkaban Gryffindor knitted scarf by Svyet of The Bookke Werm’s Realm, cross-stitch patterns for the crests of all four houses [...]

  7. Ravenclaw says:

    Sweet! I’m totally making one. How long is yours?

    • svyet says:

      Thanks! Mine’s super long, like something over eight feet after I blocked it. But I did the stripe repeat twelve times, so you could do it shorter if you like. :)

      • Ravenclaw says:

        I love long scarves; I’ll probably do mine 7-8 feet anyways with 60 stitches. 10 1/2 inches is a bit wide for me haha! I’m in Ravenclaw so it’s going to be blue and bronze I’m so excited! :D

  8. davidjamesdipardo says:

    Love this! Question; what weight of yarn did you use? Also, I’ve never done a scarf like this, it the round and joined, what keeps it flat?

    Thanks

    David

    • svyet says:

      Thank you! My yarn was worsted weight, but you could use a thinner one and smaller needles to make a lighter scarf (something I should have done, seeing as it doesn’t get very cold down here). When you knit a scarf on the round, blocking it and sewing up the ends does a pretty good job of keeping it flat, and because of it’s double thickness nature, it does a pretty good job of keeping you quite warm.

      I hope this helps!

      • svyet says:

        One more thing. When you block it and sew the ends, be sure not to twist it, or else it will never lie flat.

      • davidjamesdipardo says:

        thanks, this helps a bunch, I think i’ll use worsted as well, it gets pretty cold up here in Quebec!

      • davidjamesdipardo says:

        Shoot, I have another question. Does it mater the length of the circular needle? 32″?

      • svyet says:

        Yes, it rather does. The scarf with all of its one hundred stitches fit very well on an 18” circular needle. 32” seems just a little large if you were to knit it normally; however, there is a technique called the ‘magic loop’ which you can use to knit smaller things on longer circular needles. I have never learned how do this, actually, so I am not sure if it will work with something so large. You can try it though.

  9. Tarot says:

    I’M SO MAKING THIS!!
    Ravenclaw colors NATURALLY :)
    BLUE AND BRONZE!

  10. Rebekah says:

    Hi!
    I was looking online for a pattern for a Harry Potter Gryffindor Scarf and this is perfect! I started right away (I’m eleven, and my mom taught me how to knit when I was six or seven) but I was wondering how did you make your fringe so thin? Whenever I make fringe, it’s just as thick as the yarn itself. DId you use thread or something?
    Please reply soon.
    Thankyou,
    Rebekah :)

    • svyet says:

      Hey, thanks for commenting!
      That’s pretty awesome! I have a ten year old little sister named Rebecca that I’m teaching how to knit too! As for the fringe, it is pretty thick and perhaps the camera didn’t show that very well, but here’s a little more information on it anyways. I did used the same yarn, but only two strands at a time. What kind of yarn are you using? Or perhaps your method of fringing could make it a little thicker? I make fringe like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V23mjk8rphw which does a pretty good job of keeping the fringe from looking like a tassel. If you’re still having problems, here’s a close up of the fringe so you can see how it looks. One side of fringeOther side of fringe
      I hope this helps!
      Rachel

      • Rebekah says:

        Hi!
        Thanks for replying. I didn’t realize that you put fringe on every stich, because I usually put them on every 2 or 3 stitches. I’m not sure what kind of yarn I am using, because I bought yarn for a Gryffindor scarf a while ago and I made it into ball, so I don’t have the packaged anymore. Whoops :(
        But thanks for the video!

        Rebekah

  11. [...] I had made my first Hogwarts scarf, a friend of mine asked me if I could make one for her as well, just not so big (she lives even [...]

  12. Victoria says:

    I’m using US size 6 needles instead of 7, so do you think I should add an extra row or two to each color so the scarf will still be the same size as yours?

    • svyet says:

      It all depends on how tightly you knit. If you are a loose knitter, you might want to try keeping the row count the same. If you are a tight knitter, adding a couple extra rows does a pretty good job of keeping it the length the same. If I were to do this again, I would actually shrink it some as it stretched a little as I knitted it. So if I were you, I would keep the size 6 needles and the row number. Hope this helps!

      • Victoria says:

        another question, how long did it take you to make your scarf? do you think I’ll be able to make one for me and one for my friend before the DH2 premier? 29 days away!

      • svyet says:

        Hmm, well it took me quite some time, but I am not the fastest knitter in the world. If you want to do two in one month, I would suggest you use my other pattern, which is knitted flat, but ribbed so that it’s double sided. It knits up much faster and isn’t quite so hot for mid July. If you think you can get two done in that time, you can try, but it took me about a month to complete one. But again, I am not the fastest knitter, so perhaps you could.

  13. Christie says:

    Okay, I feel so stupid but I don’t really get how you keep the project from being a tube on the circular needles. Or is it supposed to be a tube? Or do you do the thing where you knit the row, get to the marker and then switch hands? Haha I’m kind of a beginner I normally knit straight or on DPNs for in the round projects…But I want to make this for my best friend who is obsessed with HP.

    • svyet says:

      Don’t worry, i had a similar quandary when I saw other scarf patterns like this one. The scarf is supposed to be a tube, which makes the it have no visible wrong side. When you sew the ends together and block it, it does a pretty good job of keeping it flat. However, because of its double thickness nature, it is also quite warm. I made this pattern during the fall for the DH P1 showing when it was quite cool. I do, actually, have another pattern for a flat scarf that is ribbed instead, so it isn’t quite as warm, (and it’s a lot faster to knit, if you’re like me and you quickly get tired of a project), and it actually is a little more accurate to the movies. I hope this helps! :)

      • Christie says:

        Hahah I hate rib knitting so I think I understand this enough to attempt it now. Thank you!

      • svyet says:

        Haha, okay You’re very welcome! :D

      • so you sewed your scarf ends together? I’ve never knitted in the round before and I am almost finished with my scarf, so I guess it’s time to address this little obstacle. Thank you! And thank you for the pattern, it’s great! ^_^

      • svyet says:

        Yup! Just make sure that they’re lined up or it you’ll have a twisted scarf. :)

  14. Michelle says:

    How long would you say it took you to make this scarf? (:
    Thanks !

    • svyet says:

      Quite a long time. I don’t think you could get it done in time for the premiere, if that’s what you’re knitting it for. I have one knitted flat that is a much quicker knit. It took me about a week and a half, but I’m not exactly the fastest knitter in the world. You could try it instead, if you like. It’s on my blog here somewhere…..

      • Leigh Anne says:

        Do I bind off the stitches at the end or can I do the 3 needle bindoff method? How do I take care of the cast on row? Do I sew it to close the tube?

      • svyet says:

        I suppose you could do the 3 needle bind off, but I’m not sure how it would look, as I have never done it before. I did the simple bindoff and then sewed it together to close the tube on both ends. Hope this helps!

  15. Kelly says:

    I just started this scarf – I’ve done 1 1/2 repetitions so far. Mine is 100 sts on size 7 needles. As it develops I’m kina amazed. I truly hope it’s not TOO much scarf. It’s for my brother’s girlfriend for Christmas.

    I am looking forward to the fringe even LESS than all the repetitive knitting! Hee. (thanks for the tutorial on the fringe, BTW, yours looks great). If I haven’t developed a hatred for this job, I’ll make a Slytherin one for my brother. She (the girlfriend) is always joking about Potter/Malfoy fanfic stories. Hee.

    Thank you for this pattern!

    • svyet says:

      Yeah, I don’t think I’m going to knit another one of these. It took WAY too long, which is why I came up with a different pattern that is knitted with ribbing for those of us who don’t hate the purl stitch. :P It’s a lot faster; I knitted two of those in the time it took me to knit one of these. :D You could always make it smaller, if you get too tired of it. Like decreasing the width to 70 stitches and make the repetitions 20 rows, then 3 rows for the strips. I don’t know, what ever seems best to you! You’re smart about starting Christmas knitting already, I probably should too. :D Ha ha, I love fanfic!

  16. Sam says:

    haha i think i hate myself for not completely reading and understanding the instructions.
    First attempt I did it using straight needles because i thought that the reason you said circular needle is because it’ll be easier if the whole thing was on the loop since its 100 stitches after getting to about the 3rd row i thought ehh this is getting a bit annoying to keep tugging at so i undid the whle thing
    second attempt i looked back at the instructions once more just incase and i thought to use circular needles then i thought to myself by the 5th row this doesn’t make sense if i did 100 stitches it’ll be way too long so i undid it
    third attempt i just realized it was supposed a circular needle because it was meant to be a tube and sewed together at the ends =_=

    This projects probably going to take me a whole week =/ but it’ll be so worth it. i’m also planning on buying a gryffindor crest and sewing it onto both ends

    Thank you for the pattern. I never thought to have make a scarf in a round like this

  17. Cory says:

    This pattern is FABULOUS! Thank you SO much for posting this…I specifically learned how to knit recently to make myself an official Gryffindor scarf and this is perfect :-). I’m a very experienced crocheter but that just doesn’t give the right look. I’m going to purchase my yarn tomorrow and will try to post back when I finish! Thanks!!

  18. Nicky says:

    I ‘m going to try making this scarf (only in Slytherin colors xD) and I was wondering what kind of yarn you would recommend. I know you used Caron, but was the one you used wool or acrylic?
    And also, how hard was it to block? Was there any special tutorial or method you used to block this scarf?
    Thanks for your time!

    • svyet says:

      I used acrylics, but you could easily use a different yarn. I chose Caron because its soft and affordable, but I’m not the biggest fan of the shiny effect it can have. Doing this again, I would probably use a wool yarn, or at least a acrylic that isn’t shiny. The scarf is actually pretty easy to block. I wet blocked this, which is the method of letting soak for a few hours in water then pinning it in the shape its supposed to be. If you go this route, all you need is a lot of space and pins. I hope this helps!

      • Nicky says:

        I think I’ll be blocking it that way, then! I’ve already got a foot or so finished, but if you wouldn’t mind me asking, I’ve got one more question.
        When you put your fringe on, did you put it on every single loop? Or did you fold the scarf in half and thread it through the front and back loop? This will be my first time ever putting fringe on a scarf, and I don’t want it to look funny. xD
        Thanks so much for the help, I really do appreciate it!

  19. A.S. says:

    Hi! First of all I love the pattern, I’ve been looking for something simple and classically HP and this is perfect. Second, do you think that it would work on a pair of 16″ size 6 needles? Or do you think I’d have to decrease the row count too much? Thanks!

    • svyet says:

      Thank you! I think size 6 needle will be fine, and I don’t think you’d have to decrease it that much, if at all.

  20. Marissa Jean says:

    Oh I absolutely must make this! I am planning on learning how to knit this year at school, and this is going to be my first project for sure! Too bad I probably won’t have it done in time to use it for the freezing Michigan winter :P

  21. Mara says:

    I absolutely adore this scarf. I learned how to knit so I could make this! However, I’m still very new to knitting so I was wondering if you could clarify what you do to sew up the ends to keep it flat? I understand blocking but wasn’t about that. Thanks so much! :)

    • svyet says:

      Thank you very much! What I mean by sewing it up is laying flat, making sure that it isn’t twisted at all, and sew the ends together using some spare yarn and a yarn needle. I hope this helps!

  22. Jeanette says:

    Hi! First I would like to say that your scarf is amazing, it looks awesome! I would like to knit something like that, and i was wondering if you made it double, like, i don’t know folded it in two? and did you knit it on round knitting needles, the ones you use when you knit hats? ( sorry if you didn´t understand it, my english isn´t very good )
    Really nice pattern! Thanks!

    • svyet says:

      Thank you very much! I did use round knitting needles to make this and knitted it in a tube by joining the ends together after I knitted one row, that way you don’t have to fold it in half. You could do it that way, knitting it flat and then sewing the sides together, but it’s a lot more work. However you want to do it! I hope this helps!

  23. Christa says:

    I love your pattern! I’m in the midst of making this for a Christmas gift (and already had requests for 3 more!) :) But I’m rather new to knitting and had kind of a dumb question. Can you tell me how to make the fringe? I love the way your’s looks! Thanks again for posting your pattern! Your going to make some people very happy this Christmas. :)

    • svyet says:

      I have posted a video somewhere in the comments above. And no question is dumb! Everyone’s a beginner at one point. :D That makes me happy to hear (er, read)! I hope that everyone enjoys them! :)

  24. Steph says:

    Great pattern, when you change from the 1st 30 row to the 1st 4 of yellow do youcontinue to knit in stockinette stitch?

  25. Sarah says:

    Hello! Love the pattern for this! I was wondering, could you point me in the direction for a good Hufflepuff yellow? My cousin LOVES Harry Potter and has claimed Hufflepuff as her house since forever. I am horrible at picking shades for projects. Thanks!

    • svyet says:

      Haha, picking shades can be rather difficult. Here’s a yellow that I think is pretty close to the movies. Hufflepuff yellow Cascade It’s Cascade Yarns 220 Wool if you want the specific yarn, but the color shouldn’t be too hard to find elsewhere.

  26. Rebekah says:

    Hey
    I commented earlier, I am Rebekah from the other comments…..Well I’ve FINALLY finished my scarf (FINALLY!!!!!) it took sooo long. I accidentally made it like 14 inches wide…..So it looks kinda weird but I’m wearing it for skiing anyway. I just have to do fringe and a few more rows. Pics to come :)

    P.S. Check out my blog! It’s a Harry Potter/Narnia blog!

  27. Helena says:

    Hi!

    This is probably the best Gryffindor scarf pattern I’ve come acrossed! thanks! I’m a beginner knitter (seriously, I JUST figured everything out and thank god for youtube tutorials), so I was wondering if you can tell me what is your method of blocking? I did a google search and apparently there are several ways, but I think right now I’d prefer doing this entire ‘project’ your way :)

    Thanks!

    • svyet says:

      Thank you very much! I actually wet blocked this so I could get a uniform shape, but you have to have a lot of pins. And a large blocking surface. I used my brother’s carpeted floor and a lot of safety pins, but it worked! I don’t see the point of getting blocking mats if you have a nice out of the way piece of carpeted floor to block on. ;)

  28. Wendi says:

    Hello! I’m really excited to make a Ravenclaw scarf with this pattern, but I have a quick question. While I was looking online for the yarn, I came across 2 sizes for the yarn you recommended: 3oz and 6oz. I wanted to know what size you used so I don’t end up buying either too much or too little. Thanks! :)

  29. Lisa says:

    I’m so glad I found this pattern, thanks a lot!! I started today and I can’t wait untill I’m finished! :D
    I am making the Hufflepuff version.

  30. Kelsey says:

    Thanks so much for the pattern! I’ve never actually knitted on circular needles and so I’m a bit nervous but I hope everything turns out alright. When you finish the scarf, do you sew along the length as well or just the openings? Also, would you say you had a lot of yarn left over? I’m using loops and threads Impeccable (I couldn’t find Caron in Canada) and I’m wondering if 3 skeins at 268 yards each would be enough or if I should go pick up another. Thanks again for the pattern, but I’m sure I’ll be asking more questions later!

    • svyet says:

      Your welcome! When you’re finished, you only sew up the ends and that will keep it sufficiently flat, especially if you block it. And circular needles are easy, so no worries! :) I would say I had a bit left over, but not much. I’ve used Impeccable for a different HP scarf, one knitted flat, and I only used two. Three for this one will probably be enough. I’m always open for questions, so don’t be bashful, and good luck!

  31. Anne Brown says:

    Hi, I live inAustralia, so what yarn do you think i would need and what size needles, and can i have your pattern to knit it flat. Do you know what coloured yarn i would have to get for the Gryffindor scarf.

  32. Revenwyn says:

    Thank you so much for this pattern, it looks pretty accurate!

  33. Hi! So I’ve been working on this pattern, and I’m worried that my knitting is rather tight so that the sections will be shorter than they’re supposed to be. You used 30 rows for the large main color sections – about how many inches did that work out to for you? And for the smaller bars? Thank you :)

  34. Jarod says:

    Thanks so much for posting this pattern! I’m going to make one for my son and add some gryfindor embroidered patches to each end. I’ve never knitted on the round like this so I just want to clarify one thing. When you say knit in stockinette and your knitting on the round that means you just use a knit stitch the entire time, right?

    • svyet says:

      Yes, I do indeed. You’re never knitting on the wrong side when knitting in the round, so purling is unnecessary. :)

  35. concon12 says:

    I absolutely love you’re scarf and can’t wait to try it out. It’s my first time knitting with circular needles and I was just wondering, is blocking necessary? Also, does it matter how you knit the ends together when you’re done and did you add the fringe to every stitch? Sorry for all the questions ><

  36. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  37. [...] is a free knitting pattern from the Come and Go Room blog where you’ll find the full (and simple) pattern available. [...]

  38. Asking questions are genuinely nice thing if you are not understanding something fully, but this post gives nice understanding yet.

  39. Maureen says:

    Fantastic thank you so much my Grandson will be thrilled

  40. […] cunning crafts. First we have a crocheted Golden Snitch by Melissa of Inner Child Crochet, then a Harry Potter Prisoner of Azkaban Gryffindor knitted scarf by Svyet of The Bookke Werm’s Realm, cross-stitch patterns for the crests of all four houses […]

  41. […] of colour and a mono primary colour fringe. The pattern and yarn suggestions can be found over at Syvet or at […]

Leave a Reply

